So…why now?

Greetings. It’s been about three weeks since I started this blog, which means I’m already behind in my promise to utilize said blog. However, it’s only been three weeks, and since I have gone much, much longer without posting on other blogs I’ve had, and since I also never specified how often ‘often’ would be when I promised to post OFTEN in my new, shiny blog, I won’t beat myself up too hard.

My name is Amber, Queen of the run-on sentences. But I digress.

The point of this post is to explore the whys-more specifically, why did I start this blog, and why on earth did I start it now?

There are several reasons that I started this blog about my oh, so interesting life. The first is that I needed something to jumpstart my writing. I’ve loved writing for a long time, but it’s been a very long time since I’ve written anything of substance, if ever. I’ve explored the deep, dark fathoms of the terrifying land of Fanfiction, most notably, while also dabbling for much of my life in free writing about whatever pops into my head. I used to write short stories in class all the time while I was busy not paying attention, though I’d hate for anyone to read those. While writing has never been anything serious for me, it’s something I really enjoy doing, and it is a quietly held dream of mine to publish something some day. Also, I’d love to pen a memoir. ANYWAYS. Despite my love of writing, and my need to do it, I’ve fallen off the wagon, and this blog was supposed to jump start it.

The second reason that I started this blog lies deep within the terrifying recesses of my journey through The Internet. From the time I was a young person traveling through the internet on my own (read: 16 or 17) I…well…I really wanted to write a popular blog. I don’t even necessarily hold any desire to profit from writing a blog, but I wanted to be one of those people that others look forward to reading. And though I’ve eased my own mind by assuring myself this will likely never happen ever, I still wanted to start a blog.

The third (AND FINAL, I SWEAR) reason I started this blog was because this is simply my latest endeavor to HAVE A BLOG AND KEEP IT, DAMMIT. I’ve had no less than five or six blogs in my life, all of which were kept up for varying amounts of time, with varying degrees of regularity, and then abandoned for one reason or another. Not this time! This blog will be my ADULT BLOG. ABOUT MY ADULT THINGS. BECAUSE I AM NO LONGER A TEENAGER USING LIVEJOURNAL IN THE DARK OF THE NIGHT TO AVOID GETTING IN TROUBLE WRITING ANGSTY ENTRIES ABOUT HOW UNFAIR EVERYTHING IS.

I am an adult writing in the dark of the night (NOT ON LIVEJOURNAL!) about…stuff. Yeah.

Lastly, dear reader, why now? And why A Million Step Journey? This blog was started now because there’s no better time than now. And because I just graduated from college and in all seriousness, there’s a lot of things I need to think about. A lot of things I need to try to figure out and handle and it’s scary. Being an adult is scary and it’s definitely not always as fun as I thought it would be. There are perks, sure, but taking care of myself and being the only one responsible for my own well-being is exhausting, and I’d be lying if I didn’t say that I don’t always do a great job. This blog is called A Million Step Journey because my life will have a million steps, in about four thousand different directions, all leading to…I have no idea where.

Have fun figuring it out with me, maybe.

Leave a Reply

