The “post” post.

Living life post-college has been one of the strangest and, actually, hardest things that I’ve done in my whole life. My whole world has been flipped upside down while staying completely the same. It’s really weird, y’all, and I don’t know if I like it.

I guess that for right now, things are pretty much the same. It feels like summer vacation, and it feels like in a month I’ll be back in a classroom. The difference is that I, you know, won’t be, and my feelings about that are quite mixed. This is the first time since my early childhood that I won’t be a full-time student, and that is just…so…weird. I think it’s weirder considering the fact that I haven’t put my degree to use yet. I signed a contract with my current job that is up at the end of August, and though the contract is up and my job has absolutely nothing to do with my degree, I don’t think I’m going to be leaving any time soon. Is it really so strange that I’m not?

The hardest thing about graduating from college has been the, well, judgment, mainly from family members. “You’re still working there? But you have a Bachelor’s degree now! What are you doing with your life?!” If anyone was wondering, I spend an inordinate amount of time thinking about my future and questioning every choice I’ve made in adulthood. I’ve got the worrying thing down; I don’t need other people to help make it worse. I don’t need judgment, I need support and understanding-understanding that life is a not a “one size fits all” thing; that just because I spend a year (or two, or even three) working somewhere and doing something that doesn’t pertain to my college degree doesn’t mean that my life is over. I want people to understand that I work really hard and the majority of the time, I enjoy what I do and how much money I’m making, and shouldn’t that count for something? Everyone can shell out criticism, but no one can take it.

SO IRRITATING!

In other news, I may or may not have decided to try something, slowly but surely, called the ketogenic diet. It involves a lot of low-carb and really high fat foods. My good friend has been on it for about 5 months and she has had crazy awesome results and it really can’t hurt to try! More on that later maybe.

Leave a Reply

