eating keto

So. As I mentioned at the end of my last post that I have been toying with the idea of starting something called the ketogenic diet. As a genuine rule, I don’t care for the term ‘diet’, because I feel like it has to be more of a lifestyle change if it can really work, but I’m also not the strictest person when it comes to eating habits.

The general, simple idea behind the Ketogenic diet (because I’m not good at being science-y and smart-like) is that our bodies are sugar and carbohydrate adapted. This means that because of the diets we eat, which are typically high carb, low fat, sugar-y diets, our bodies burn carbs and sugars for energy. The keto diet is a high-fat, low-carb diet that forces your body into ketosis, meaning it burns fat for energy instead of carbs since there are very little carbs in your body for it to burn. Meaning your body burns all the fat you’re eating instead of storing it…resulting in increased energy and concentration and tons of awesome weight loss if you’re following it correctly!

I’ve known about this diet for a while, as it’s typically used as a method of seizure control in epilepsy patients. It’s something that I’ve never toyed with because I’ve always been so well-controlled on medication and I didn’t want to mess with it. One of my best friends has been doing this for 4 months or so and she’s had fantastic results on it. She says she feels like a new person and she’s lost a pretty significant chunk of weight in a relatively short amount of time. It sounds crazy and drastic but if I can improve my energy and concentration while losing weight and making myself healthier, it’s completely worth a try. Not everything works for everyone-not every diet or lifestyle change works the same for everyone. So this could completely bomb for me and not work-but I’m trying not to think that way.

Like I said, eating keto means eating very high fat, moderate protein and very low carb. Absolutely no processed sugars and no grains (bye, bread and pop!). Cutting out grains and sugar is going to be extremely difficult for me and my friend said initially you feel like, well, shit. I’m the first person to admit that I eat/drink way too much sugar. I drink pop like I should be drinking water. I decided to start doing this diet as much as I could, as soon as I could, and yesterday was my first day with absolutely no sugar.

The headaches though. OUCH. I started out pretty strong and drank all water at work all day and had no sugar. I ate a lettuce wrap for lunch. I was still going strong later, but then I started feeling weak, and shaky. My head was throbbing, I was nauseous, I felt like I was going to pass out. So, I’m not going to lie, I had some pop with my dinner :/ And I felt tons better. Now, I’m not sure if my blood sugar was actually low because I know that I don’t eat enough, or because I was missing out on sugar. I DON’T KNOW. THIS IS REALLY HARD. AND I SUCK AND HAVE NO WILLPOWER AND I FEEL REALLY BAD ABOUT MYSELF 😦 I’m doing this with a friend of mine (I’M SORRY PAIGE) but I am making actual effort and doing better than I did even two days ago. It’s harder than I thought it would be.

I went grocery shopping today and bought some fruits and salads and dressing. And water. And flavoring stuff for water so I’m not tempted to drink pop for flavor. So I am making strides, this is just harder than I imagined.

CHEER ME ON. #EATINGKETO

Leave a Reply

