music

Truth be told, I’m not much of a musical person, and I don’t think I ever will be. I can’t play an instrument to save my soul and I don’t have tons of music on my phone or iPod. So when I logged onto WordPress today and saw that my challenge on Writing 101 today was to write about three songs that have an impact on me…well, I’m not going to lie, it’s difficult. But I’ve done my best, so here we go.

1. “Lost Stars”, Adam Levine. This is actually a really recent discovery for me. It’s from the movie Begin Again, which is basically a musical and full of really great music. I got to see this movie a few weeks ago and fell in love with the music, which is a pretty mix of soft folk songs and some more pop-py songs that appeal to my inner 15 year old girl. This song, Lost Stars, appears twice on the soundtrack, sung once by Adam Levine and once by Keira Knightley (yeah, you read that right. The Pirates of the Caribbean chick can sing). I prefer Adam Levine’s version because it has a more pop feel but they’re both great. This is my recent obsession song.

2. “Last Kiss”, Pearl Jam. This is actually a cover of an older song, and it’s actually pretty depressing and I don’t really care for it much. However, Writing 101 asked for impactful songs, not great songs, so here we are. This was my dad and former stepmom’s “song” for each other, and to this day I really don’t get it, but this song reminds me of my childhood with him. Whether I like it or not, my dad and his wife and their children were a huge part of my life for a long time, and had a huge impact on me and this song will always take me right back to that.

3. “If I Could Do It Again”, Corey Smith. The summer of 2006, this was my jam-me and my cousin’s, that is, and that’s why it’s so impactful. I remember walking around her neighborhood, sharing a pair of earbuds on her iPod mini (yeah, that’s how long ago it was) and blasting this while planning a road trip that we both weren’t old enough to take together. This reminds me of hot pavement and ice cream and sun burns and swimming and being a carefree teenager.

Leave a Reply

