weddings and teeth

It’s been June for officially four days, almost five, and I can’t believe we’re already over halfway through with this circus act of a shitty year. The last six months have been some of the most emotional and trying times ever. I try really hard to keep it in perspective and tell myself that everything happens for a reason-an often used saying that I actually put a lot of stock in-but knowing that isn’t always the comfort that I wish it could be. I’m in a better place than I was three months ago, though, and that is a huge relief in and of itself.

Life’s been crazy. We’ve officially edged into the kind of weather around my neck of the woods that makes me want to crawl out of my skin (aka, any weather above 55 degrees) so I’m pretty annoyed. I hate being hot and it drives me nuts! This year two people who mean a lot to me have gotten engaged which means next year I’m standing up in two weddings. Ahhhhh! I’m at that age where everyone’s getting married and having babies. My cousin Caitlyn got engaged in January and I’m one of her bridesmaids and my best friend Maegan got engaged about three weeks ago. Today she asked me to be her co maid of honor, sharing the spotlight with her little sister (who’s also one of my best friends and is like a little sister to me). I honestly didn’t think she’d ask me because she’d already asked her sister and I was/am so happy about it! Maegan is like a sister to me and I’m so excited to be a part of her special day.

The biggest thing that’s been on my mind lately besides wedding prep (and if you exist in my real life, I apologize because I’ve probably talked your ear off about it) is the fact that in just about two and a half weeks, I’m getting my wisdom teeth removed. I’ve been putting this off for about five years because I either didn’t have the money or I was just plain terrified (mostly the second one). Well, the time’s rolled around and I just need to suck it up and get it done. According to my oral surgeon, I’m A. really old at the age of 24 to be having this done and B. My bottom wisdom teeth are severely impacted, growing very close to the nerve. Both of these things are apparently going to make my recovery kind of rough, according to him, so I’ve scheduled myself three days off of work after the surgery per my doctor. If it feels better I can always go back early but I didn’t want to assume it’d be okay and really wish I’d taken the extra day or two that I need. I’m just really nervous for some reason and I feel like i’m driving everyone nuts talking about it but…oh well.

Leave a Reply

