biblio probs

I have books upon books upon books.

When I say that, I’m really not exaggerating. There are literally books on top of my books. My mom created a love of reading in me from the time I was little, and I’ve run with it ever since. It’s probably my favorite thing about myself, and something I don’t take for granted. As long as I have a book by my side, I can go anywhere and be anyone, and I don’t even have to leave my house. I judge my purses on whether or not they can hold a book or four; I’ve been known to ramble about the books I’m reading to people who couldn’t care less; I have piles of unread books in my room but still can’t resist the urge to purchase a new one. That’s the kind of bibliophile I am, and I wouldn’t change it for anything.

I’ve been in a book slump lately. The last three or four books I’ve picked up just haven’t grabbed me the way I want them to. I used to force myself to finish whatever I picked up, but I don’t do that as often anymore. Life’s too short to finish books you don’t like 🙂 So anyways, the last few have been duds (all of them I paid good money for…bummer). I’m about a quarter of the way through “White Oleander” by Janet Fitch, and while I’m enjoying it, I found myself picking up “To Kill A Mockingbird” last night-yeah, that book. I haven’t read it since high school but since Harper Lee is releasing a sequel fifty-something years after this book, I want to re-read it before “Go Set a Watchman” comes out. I’m actually kind of interested to read TKAM as an adult instead of a high schooler.

If you want to read more book ramblings, check out my book blog, in which I discus book stuff nobody cares about in real life.

Leave a Reply

