god, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change…

I’ve stared at this page for a while now, trying to figure out what words to put down that could describe what I’m feeling. I have no words to describe the ache in my heart, in my bones, in my head. The deep sadness and grief I’m feeling.

Tuesday I got a phone call that I never wanted to get. I was at work, and I got a call from the brother of one of my drivers, who told me that my good friend and coworker David had passed away the night before. I’ve never experienced a death like this in my life. He was young, he was healthy, and it was a total and complete shock. Someone who was a part of my everyday life, someone who made me laugh, someone who meant a great deal to me and everyone around me, is gone. We’re all left blundering through this, wondering why it had to be him…a 22-year old boy with his entire life ahead of him.

My coworkers and I are like a little family. Most of us are incredibly close and spend time together outside of work with bonfires, drinks, movies and other stuff. I work with an awesome group of people who make me laugh on a consistent, daily basis. David was a huge part of that, and someone who everyone loved. Now, he’s gone, and our family is devastated and left trying to figure out how on earth we’re supposed to get through this. He was our little shit, a goofy, funny, happy-go-lucky guy who got along with everyone. He was one of the hardest workers I’ve ever worked with, and my go-to guy. If I needed something from David, the answer was yes, almost 100% of the time. He was there early, stayed late, and always had a smile on his face. He was a job hopper before he worked with us, never staying in one place for more than 3-5 months at a time, and he worked with us for almost two years.

He told me all the time in one breath that I was a piece of shit, but always followed it up with “You’re the best GM ever and this is the best job I’ve ever had.” Sounds sappy, but that made me feel good, because one of the things I’ve always wanted to accomplish is to make a difference in one of my employee’s lives. He would always help me out with whatever I needed and was constantly joking with me about everything from my shitty taste in music (Ween does NOT suck), love of Disney/Harry Potter/Wicked, and had the most vulgar sense of humor I’ve ever known. And I loved him for it.

We were supposed to have a Harry Potter marathon. We were supposed to go see Wicked together in November. We were supposed to do so many things, and now he’s gone. Words can’t describe the hurt my work family and I are feeling, but I’m so grateful we have each other. There’s something so wrong about all of this. I’ll never forget you, David…you really were one of the good ones.

Leave a Reply

